Skip to main content

Foundation Announces New Board Members

New board members to bring added expertise

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation is pleased to announce that Paul Snyder will serve as incoming board chair. Snyder, retired, was formerly managing partner at KPMG LLP and previously served as the Foundation's board vice chair. He succeeds Chris Hilger, president and CEO of Securian Financial Group. Hilger will remain on the board.

“The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation has inspired philanthropic and community investments for more than 75 years. I am honored to support the work of the Foundation and to serve alongside others committed to the strength of our state," said Snyder.

In addition to new board leadership, the Foundation also welcomed five new members to the board: Jill Farrington, Matt Majka, Mary Jane Melendez, Gloria Perez and Craig Stapleton.

Jill Farrington is a partner in KPMG’s Minneapolis Advisory Practice and currently serves as the advisory office leader. She brings more than 20 years of experience working with clients in a variety of industries, specializing in the financial services sector. Her key areas of focus include advising clients in how to manage business risk related to technology, IT governance, information security, and systems control design as well as IT attestation services. Jill serves as the lead account partner of several of KPMG’s strategic accounts.

Matt Majka is the president and alternate governor of the Minnesota Wild. In his second season in the position and 22nd year with the organization, Majika has been instrumental in fostering the unique relationship between the hockey club and its fan base. The team’s continued dedication to the fans of the “State of Hockey” is reflected in ESPN The Magazine’s Ultimate Standings as the Wild was named the “Best Stadium Experience” in the National Hockey League from 2007-2010.

Mary Jane Melendez is the executive director of the General Mills Foundation where she leads the company’s charitable giving and corporate volunteerism efforts. Melendez is responsible for the Foundation’s global philanthropic strategy, ensuring core corporate values, best practices, and innovation inform General Mills’ non-profit partnerships, signature philanthropic programs, global grant-making, and community and employee engagement programs.

Gloria Perez is the president & CEO of the Jeremiah Program. Perez is one of the country’s leading experts in two-generation strategies to reduce poverty. As an Ascend Fellow at the Aspen Institute, she is working with leaders from across the country to drive innovative ideas and proven strategies to help families achieve educational success and economic security. A graduate of Macalester College, Perez is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Alexandrine Medal from St. Catherine University, an honorary doctorate degree from Macalester College and the Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

Craig Stapleton is the senior vice president and portfolio manager, quantitative strategies at Securian Financial Group. Stapleton is responsible for derivatives, agency mortgage backed securities, government and municipal bonds, quantitative analytics, cash management, asset liability management and strategic asset allocation for the Minnesota Life General Account. He is the head of the quantitative analysis and research group. He is also the co-portfolio manager for the Managed Volatility strategies and the Securian Asset Management Strategic Dividend Income portfolios.

“We look forward to strengthening our impact in communities across the state thanks to the added expertise and dedication our new board members bring to the Foundation. We are grateful they have chosen to be leaders in philanthropy and help guide the Foundation's community investments across the state,” said Dr. Eric J. Jolly, president and CEO of the Foundation.

The Foundation also wishes to extend appreciation and recognize the contributions of outgoing board members MayKao Hang, Tim Welsh and Pamela Wheelock.

More Stories

Read Partnership for a ConnectedMN Awards $2.1 Million in Grants

Partnership for a ConnectedMN Awards $2.1 Million in Grants

23 organizations serving digital access needs of Minnesota students receive grants.

View the news
Read Foundation Elects New 2021 Board Members

Foundation Elects New 2021 Board Members

The Foundation announced the election of four new members to its board of directors.

View the news
Read MCF and the Foundation Award Final Round of MDRF Grant Funding

MCF and the Foundation Award Final Round of MDRF Grant Funding

In total, the Minnesota Disaster Recovery Fund for coronavirus has supported 93 organizations and awarded over $11.4 million.

View the news
Read Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation and McKnight Foundation Create “Art In This Present Moment” in Support of BIPOC Artists

“Art In This Present Moment” Created in Support of BIPOC Artists

Initiative seeks to amplify the voices and experiences of Minnesota artists by placing a spotlight on their music, dance and visual arts.

View the news
Read Public-Private Partnership to Support Student Connectivity Needs

Public-Private Partnership to Support Student Connectivity Needs

The state is working with philanthropic and business leaders to focus on device and connection needs.

View the news
Read Three Organizations Work to Transform the Criminal Justice System

Three Organizations Work to Transform the Criminal Justice System

Organizations launch emergency “Twin Cities Rebuild for the Future Fund,” already at $1 million.

View the news
Read MCF and the Foundation Award Over $3 Million in Grants

MCF and the Foundation Award Over $3 Million in Grants

Grants for COVID-19 nonprofit recovery and community resilience focus on Twin Cities BIPOC (Black, Indigenous and People of Color) community recovery efforts.

View the news



* Indicates a required field